gloomy sunday – Honeybee by Steam Powered Giraffe

This song’s meaning transformed for me over the span of a few years. It helped me grieve relationships that I would never have the chance to nurture. It helped me process making decisions that I wished I hadn’t.

It’s why I decided to get a tattoo of a honeybee. I’m writing this before my session, but hopefully the outline is done. I’ll eventually make a longer post on what this piece of my sleeve means to me and how the song fits into it.

This song sounds like a dream. It ebbs and flows and floats by in a way that is guaranteed to leave me sobbing by the end. To be honest, I haven’t fallen in love with this band, but this is one of a couple of songs by them that stand out to me. Good harmonies always get me. (There’s that choir girl coming out, I guess.)

Ouch.

Author: chere lyn

I need to be led in the right direction. The little kids taught me well.

Leave a comment